For as long as I can remember, I’ve been fascinated with stories. I get so caught up in the adventure that I feel like I’m a character watching it all happen right before me. Even as a child I made up my own stories to entertain myself. Those long road trips to my grandparent’s house in Missouri went by fast as long as I stayed inside the story that floated around in my head.

Now as I’ve jumped into this real-life adventure of a storyteller, I’m trying to figure out what kind of stories I want to tell. Make-believe worlds and impossible scenarios are always great fun but there’s just something extra special about stories that actually happened. History used to be just about the most boring subject I studied (only slightly less boring than math), until I started studying the stories that make up the history of mankind. Homeschooling my boys has allowed me this opportunity to grasp the events of our past in a way that I have never been able to do before. And I love it.

The first writing job I got was writing for The Homemaking Cottage. I love writing articles because it combines my love of research with my joy in teaching others what I learn. An unexpected addition is an element of storytelling that pops up every so often. For example, I wrote a piece on the care and laundering of silk. I could have written a basic how-to guide, but while doing the research I came across the fascinating history of silk and just had to include the story in my article. Stories are everywhere!

Whenever I come across a good storyteller I want to share it with everyone I know and I’ve found a great one. Mike Rowe of “Dirty Jobs” fame has recently started a podcast. These short episodes are in the style of Paul Harvey’s “The Rest of the Story” radio segments. He doesn’t give away the person he’s talking about until the very end and after every episode I’m left smiling in amazement. Here’s the link if you have a few minutes to check it out.

http://mikerowe.com/podcast/

