I have a list of books that I wish everyone would read. It’s not very long so far and I rarely come across a new book to add to it, so I was surprised to discover that Frankenstein by Mary Shelley is a must-read. I began reading it with reluctance and only chose it because it happened to be on a recommended reading list that I have and it was on my shelf. As a child I watched the classic black and white film of the book; it isn’t even close to the original story line.

Far from the horror story that we think of when we hear the word “Frankenstein,” this story is a morality tale, a caution for overstepping the bounds of natural law. Victor Frankenstein, a man with a brilliant mind, brings new life into bits and parts of dead matter. The result is a disfigured monster, much stronger and more resilient than a natural-born man. Frankenstein regrets making his creation and wishes to forget all about him. But the created does not forget his creator.

This tale reaches into the very core of what all humans crave: love and acceptance. When a person does not receive these basic necessities of life, he is plunged into a life of loneliness and depravity. And isn’t this the basis for all crimes? Desperate people do desperate things.

Frankenstein broke the natural law that governs our world and paid a heavy price for it. He also denied his moral obligation to his creation and the result was pain and suffering for them both. We would do well to heed the warnings in this book and tread carefully when playing with things that are beyond our comprehension.

