This week I’ve been immersed in a young adult novel that is quite different from my usual fare. Cinder by Marissa Meyer is a twist on the traditional Cinderella fairy tale. In this version, Cinder is a cyborg, a human with robotic body parts. It’s set in the future in New Beijing, so named because the old Beijing was destroyed during World War IV.

There’s still a mean step-mother and step-sister, a dreamy prince, and a ball, but this futuristic story adds even more suspense with an incurable disease and foreign invaders from the moon. Oh, and the glass slipper is actually a robotic foot.

I’m not usually into sci-fi, but this story has sucked me in. Cinder is the first volume in The Lunar Chronicles and I’m anxious to see where else the story leads.

Click the book cover below to learn more!

