My favorite part of homeschooling my boys is reading great books together.  It gives us shared experiences and a bond of community that I treasure.  Long after we’ve closed the book, we relive these stories and adventures we’ve traveled together.  Stories are so powerful.  They can teach us lessons in a way that is safe.  They can help us see the world through the eyes of people who are different from us.  They can take us to far-away lands we would not be able to explore otherwise.  Stories are my favorite gift to give my children.

Our current read-aloud is Book One of The Wingfeather Saga, On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness by Andrew Peterson.  We’ve just fallen into this adventure, but so far we are enjoying it.  Peterson obviously has a sharp sense of humor, and although the story is mostly lighthearted at the moment, I perceive that there will be dark times to come.  Once we finish it I’ll post an in-depth review.  In the mean-time you can click on the picture below to find out more.

 

