I love the winter time…usually.  Once those flakes start falling, I know my time to come out and play is near.  The giggles of my family as they pile the snow into a ball makes my heart want to sing.  Eagerly, I wait for them to form my body, then my head.  I know it won’t be long before I have arms again.  Eyes and a mouth come next, and finally my nose.  And my people are so kind to give me a hat, scarf, and gloves so I won’t melt too soon.

Well, everything was going perfectly last evening.  The children had gone back into their house to warm their hands and feet by a fire (I can see them from the window).  The last rays of the sun dropped behind the roof and the whole world fell silent.  I had just started settling in for the night when I heard a rustling from the cedar trees behind me.

“Who’s there?” I timidly asked.

Nothing but more rustling.

“Show yourself!” I demanded, trying to keep my voice steady.

Footsteps pounded the snow as I trembled with fear.  What vile beast was out there?  Would it knock me down and reduce me to a pile of snow once again?

The footsteps grew louder as the creature came closer.  I shut my eyes tight to keep from crying.

“Please, don’t hurt me,” I said, hoping that it was a friendly beast and would take pity on me in my immobile state.

“I won’t hurt you,” said the beast as it walked in front of me.

It didn’t sound very mean.  In fact, it sounded quite nice, which goes to show you that you can never trust what you hear.  So I cracked open one eye.  What I saw before me was the goofiest looking creature I had ever seen.  Its brown body was covered with fur and it walked on four skinny legs.  Bravely, I looked it in the eyes.

There we stood, staring at one another: me, the kind snowman, and this horrid beast.  I should have known that our meeting would not end well.  I should have been suspicious when the beast licked it’s thin glistening lips.  That’s the problem with being too nice; we always get the short end of the stick.

I didn’t know what to say next, so I just kept quiet, hoping the beast would wander off and bother someone else.  After looking at me for a whole minute, that little monster grabbed my nose with its killer teeth and ran back into the trees munching as he went.

(This is the sad tale I received when I happened upon a snowman and I asked him where his nose was.)

