I’ve been eyeing SchoolhouseTeachers.com for a while, wondering if it could be a benefit to our homeschool. Thanks to the Homeschool Review Crew, I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to check out the Yearly Membership. They just revealed a new and improved website that is super easy to navigate through.

After I received my membership, I eagerly perused the options. There are over 200 classes to choose from ranging from Art to Science and everything in between. All the basics are covered and many electives are available as well like Filmmaking, Whole Foods Cooking, and Health 101. They even have a great looking Preschool curriculum.

Since the holidays were approaching and I had planned to take several weeks off of school, I chose to pick a video course to go through with my three boys, something that would be interesting to us all and something we haven’t really studied much about. I chose the Dinosaurs and the Bible course taught by Patrick Nurre. Each of the 16 video lessons includes a worksheet download to add in, but we just watched the videos. I was able to use my iPad and connect it to our TV so we could all easily watch. The course was absolutely fantastic, teaching us many things about dinosaurs that we didn’t know. I love that it was taught from a Biblical perspective.

We’re just starting back a new school year (I go by calendar year because it’s so much easier to plan), and I’ve got a long list of more courses that I hope to add into our school throughout the coming months. I’m especially excited about Simply Shakespeare, Starting a Micro Business (for my oldest son), Beginning Latin, and Great Musicians. And that’s just a small sampling of what SchoolhouseTeachers offers! I plan on letting each of my boys pick out something to study.

 

Besides the wonderful selection of classes, SchoolhouseTeachers also has some interesting courses for parents. I love that there are several options for the whole family to learn together. There are also special resources for help with special needs and with high school. They even have monthly dinner menus with recipes!

If you need help with planning, they’ve got that too, offering a selection of printable planners for mom, special needs children, and primary, intermediate, and high school levels. The planning section also includes Scope and Sequence lists by grade and by subject, a Custom Schedule Builder, recordkeeping help using Applecore, and a course checklist to make it easy to see what’s available at each grade level.

Navigating the site is simple. They have a Quick Links page that lists all the courses available. You can also browse the courses offered by grade or by subject. Once you find a course that looks interesting, just click on the lessons, download and print what you need, and get started! There’s not much advanced prep needed, which I love. All the hard work has been done by a long list of teachers with a variety of backgrounds.

Membership with SchoolhouseTeachers.com also includes a subscription to The World Book eBook Library which offers additional classes and a large selection of eBooks.

And finally, SchoolhouseTeachers offers video tutorials for many of their resources to make using the site even easier.

Interested in learning more about this awesome teaching tool? Visit the Homeschool Review Crew Blog to read more reviews!

 

High-quality, Self-paced, Online Homeschool Resources {SchoolhouseTeachers.com}

 

 

Crew Disclaimer

