There are days when I wonder what I’ve gotten myself into with this homeschooling thing. Those are the days when my boys are fussing at each other, laundry is piled up, dishes cover the counter, and I have a headache. It’s not the academic part that concerns me, it’s just the life stuff. But, just when I get all teary-eyed and convinced that I’m doing it all wrong, something amazing will happen.

Sometimes it’s a small thing like when one of the boys sweeps the floor. Without being asked. Or, they come up with an amazing Lego creation. Or my oldest son invites his younger brothers to watch his science experiment. It may be that they sit down with our neighbors and totally carry the conversation without any prompting from me (and I can’t even get a word in). Right now my younger two sons are putting a golf ball in the backyard. Into several holes that they dug. They’ve already used a metal detector to dig up all our buried treasure. These small, insignificant moments in our day are what make me love our homeschooling lifestyle.

We homeschool year-round. Most days we do some learning, but if an emergency comes up or we make an impromptu shopping trip, we have the flexibility to go with it. The calendar doesn’t dictate where we are in our book. We just do the next thing.

Many people wonder about socialization. I get it. Being able to communicate with other people is important. So, we visit a friend who is in the nursing home and some of our retired neighbors. We get together with other homeschoolers for PE class (which I teach, a whole other story!). We take field trips. My boys lead singing at church and my oldest son leads prayers and speaks. They can play with a baby or have a fun conversation with people 80 years older than them. Socialized? Definitely!

I’ve been asked if I will continue homeschooling into high school. My oldest son is 13, so this is just on the horizon. Honestly, high school will be a breeze. The hardest part (learning how to read) is done and there are so many helps available that I’m not worried about high school at all.

I’ve also been asked if I have a teaching degree. I do not. My degree is in accounting. But that doesn’t mean that I haven’t put in the time to learn how to teach. I’ve read numerous books, watched online classes, and listened to homeschool podcasts. Learning never ends!

Even with the difficult days, I wouldn’t trade homeschooling my boys for anything. I love watching them learn new things. I love the flexibility that homeschooling gives us. I love learning right along with my kids. Homeschooling isn’t for the faint of heart. It is hard work, there’s no denying it. But I wouldn’t do it if I didn’t love it!

Find out what other moms love about homeschooling by clicking the button!

The things we LOVE about Home Schooling

