A few days ago our temperature soared to near 100 degrees. Now, Oklahoma is no stranger to triple-digit temps, but in the middle of February? That’s just ridiculous. On the way back into the house from taking out the garbage, I happened to look at my front flower bed. Then I did a double take. Popping up through the thick layer of dead leaves (it counts as mulch, right?) were my tulips. They’re early, tricked into thinking that spring has already arrived when we’re only halfway through with winter. It’s not the right time for tulips.

I’ve been pondering over that concept all week – the right time – and how important it is in so many areas of our lives. Too early or too late and whatever it is won’t work out.

Take for instance, an important piece of news that I need to tell my husband. Let’s say it’s a huge, unexpected repair that must be made. Telling him about it as soon as he walks in the door from a long day at work is not the best time. That piece of information is best told when he’s relaxed a bit and had dinner first.

Or as another example, I get an amazing idea for a business/project/new craft to learn but at this point in my life I’m busy being a mom and homeschooler. I could of course make some plans and gather ideas. I could even start learning a bit about whatever it is I’m interested in doing. The present, however, is just not the right time to add on another major responsibility. This is where I’m at with my writing. I’m dipping my toes in the pool at the moment and seeing how it feels. I’m reading books, taking classes, and practicing. The major writing I intend to do is not my focus at the moment. It can wait until some of my current roles start to decrease. Waiting for the right time is hard especially when I have a tendency to jump all into something while the excitement lasts.

Wise King Solomon gives us sound advice to remember that we should be mindful of the right time to do things. The end result will be better.

image-1

