As a mom of three boys, I am sometimes put into awkward situations. My boys and I are close, so they are not usually embarrassed to ask me questions or talk to me about what’s on their hearts. I try to answer them as best as I can, but sometimes I just have to admit that I’m not a guy and they need to talk to their dad about whatever’s going on. Nathan, our oldest, is 13 and has questions and concerns that are more often out of my area of expertise. Since we are a homeschooling family, my husband has entrusted me with the privilege to teach our boys what they need to know in order to navigate the world outside our home safely and confidently. But there is only so much I am able to do. There comes a time when my boys will need a man to help show them how to be men. Celebrating Manhood: a rite of passage guide, is a tool that I think will be really helpful with this transition to manhood.

This eBook is a product from Home School Adventure Co., a company founded by Stacy Farrell who is a homeschooling mom herself and mother to two teenage boys. She was kind enough to send me a digital copy of Celebrating Manhood to look over and review.

My initial thoughts were that the eBook is shorter than I expected. At only 37 pages, it didn’t take very long to read through the first time. Mrs. Farrell starts out by emphasizing the need for parents to acknowledge a clear passage into manhood and explains the importance of the mom in this transition as well as the mom’s limits. She then tells how she developed a simple rite-of-passage celebration for her son’s 14th birthday, calling on her husband and other men to help make it an especially memorable evening.

Next, Mrs. Farrell lays out a blueprint for creating your own special manhood celebration for the young man in your life. She gives a suggested agenda with five easy-to-follow steps for the event and a sample invitation to send out to other men who know and care about your son. The recommendations are simple and doable.

The final part of Celebrating Manhood is the heart of the eBook. There are three sets of question cards that are to be used during the celebratory event and answered by the men attending. The first set of questions are titled “I Remember When…”. They include questions like “What was one of the saddest days of your life and why?” These questions are aimed to help make a connection between the young man and the older men, to find common ground. The “If Only I Had Known…” questions dig a little deeper. “If you could have a second chance, what would you do differently in your life in your twenties?” is one sample question. These questions touch on regrets in the men’s lives and will help the young man to be aware of his choices and the impact they could have in his future. The last set of questions, “What I Value and Respect…” ask the deepest and most powerful questions such as, “What are you willing to defend with your life?” They are heart-probing questions that I suspect will have a tremendous impact on the young man who is listening.

Celebrating Manhood: a rite of passage guide is available as a digital download or as a print edition. Both include a poster of 1 Corinthians 13:11 and a welcome to the world of men.

To read more reviews of products from Home School Adventure Co. click the button below.

 

Resources with a Biblical Worldview{Home School Adventure Co. Reviews}Crew Disclaimer

