As part of my own continuing education, I’m reading The Well-Educated Mind: A Guide to the Classical Education You Never Had (Updated and Expanded) by Susan Wise Bauer. It’s a great book that has an extensive annotated book list that is divided into the main genres. For novels, the first book on the list is Don Quixote by Miguel De Cervantes. This is my first time to read it and my first impression is that Quixote is a nut! But, it’s fun reading about all the mis-adventures that he gets himself and his sidekick Sancho into.

Because I’m a nerd, I did a little digging and found some resources to use as I study this classic novel.

Discovery Education – Lesson plans to use in a classroom. Also includes suggested readings and additional resources.

Study Guide from LitCharts – Includes a detailed summary, important quotes, main themes, and symbols used in the novel. It can be downloaded as a pdf file.

Course from Yale – A series of 24 lectures taught by a Yale professor. He speaks Spanish so this is great for getting the correct pronunciations.

Librivox recording – I’m listening to the novel first then reviewing it in my copy. Also Volume 2.

