Occasionally I read junior and young adult fiction. Sometimes it’s just for fun (like the Lunar Chronicles) but I also like to preview books before I let my boys read them. I came across a book that intrigued me at our local library and decided to check it out. It is called Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein.

The story is set in a town that hasn’t had a public library for 12 years. A man who grew up there and became rich from the many games he created has decided to build a new library. He holds an essay contest in order to choose a group of 12 year-old children to be the first to visit the state-of-the-art library.

Once inside the library (which is awesome, by the way), the kids learn that they have also entered a game and must use their smarts and the resources contained in the library to get out. Riddles, games, and quizzes are all part of the fun.

This was a fun book for me to read and would be enjoyable by kids of all ages. Click the picture below to learn more.

