For The Deliberate Reader book club this month we’re discussing Hannah Coulter by Wendell Berry. This pick is from the literary fiction genre and I was excited to read it as I’ve heard rave reviews about Berry’s work. I was not disappointed.

As I commented in our discussion, this book is the story of a beautiful life lived beautifully. It’s a slow-paced story, quite the opposite of Dark Matter by Blake Crouch that we read last month. I related to much of what Hannah remembers from her life because it sounds very much like the lives that my grandparents lived. Her neighbors were likable, even lovable. I mourned along with her when she reminisced about the hard times and I chuckled while reading about some of the scrapes that her friends got into. This story touches a time almost forgotten, that will be forgotten within another generation. I’m grateful to Wendell Berry for putting into such beautiful words the realities of life of an amazing generation of people.

I borrowed this one from the library but there are so many great lines sprinkled throughout that I’ve got this one on my to-buy list so I can underline in it! For more information, click on the picture below.

