I’ve always got a book going that I read aloud to my boys. We just finished up The Monster in the Hollows by Andrew Peterson, Book 3 of the Wingfeather Saga, and we started the last book, The Warden and the Wolf King. These are fabulous stories, as evidenced by the begging that ensues for another chapter. There are so many great ideas that are covered in this series: the relationship between siblings, responsibilities, choices and consequences, doing hard things, and so much more. There’s action, adventure, love, sacrifice, and sadness. It’s a beautiful story that we are anxious to continue, yet sorrowful that it will end. The last book is quite long, over 500 pages, so we will be reading it for a while.

My own reading includes working my way through Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Summer Reading Guide. I’ve already read I See You by Clare Mackintosh, a modern thriller set in London. Currently, I’m reading Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham. Set in Tulsa, Oklahoma, it tells two stories of two different teens living in very different times. One is present-day teen Rowan, a girl who discovers an old body buried in the back house. The other teen is Will from the 1920s. The book alternates between the two stories. This YA novel has a lot to say about race and history and how some things may change yet other things are doomed to stay the same. I’m intrigued about this tale of an episode in my state’s history that I never knew about.

