My adventures with Don Quixote are finally over and I find myself feeling some complicated emotions. Throughout the entire book I had difficulty refraining from rolling my eyes. I mean, that guy is nuts! But, somewhere along the way in book 2, my heart began to change and I started to feel more compassionate towards him. By the end I felt like we had become friends and I will miss him.

The boys and I are LOVING The Warden and the Wolf King, the 4th and final book in the Wingfeather Saga.

For The Deliberate Reader Book Club, I’m starting on July’s selection, True Grit by Charles Portis. To go along with it I put Rooster: The Life and Time of the Real Rooster Cogburn, the Man Who Inspired True Grit on hold from the library. I’m not much of a western fan, but I really like the movie so I’m sure I will enjoy these books.

I’m also continuing on through Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Summer Reading Guide. Yesterday I finished The Dry by Jane Harper. It’s a really good mystery novel set in Australia, so of course I read it in my head with an Aussie accent. Next up is Almost Missed You by Jessica Strawser, then I Found You by Lisa Jewell. These are both classified as suspense novels.

So much reading goodness going on here! What’s in your book bag?

