Because I had such great success with my 2016 word for the year, I chose another one for this year. Since the year is half over (already?!) I thought it would be a good time to check in and see how I’m doing.

Basically I’m horrible at resting!

Okay, so it’s not a total failure. I’ve definitely been praying more. And I’ve been reading through Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Summer Reading Guide and that fits with my brain candy goal. We did go on a few hikes and have been going out to our farm almost every week, so outdoor time has also drastically increased.

I was so disappointed when our spring retreat had to be canceled due to my husband’s work. It’s been a pretty stressful time around here and I really looked forward to that week away. Life happens though and we’re getting by. I haven’t even touched my crochet hooks all year and because of my husband’s work schedule I haven’t been able to set up a Mom’s Night Out yet. I’m hoping the fall will slow down a bit and we’ll get to go on a vacation.

Last week we took a school break (we homeschool year-round so we can be super flexible) with the intention to rest and relax. Unfortunately, I used that time to catch up on the things I’ve been neglecting and took on the HUGE project of culling the boys outgrown clothes. I ended up getting sick and spent Friday just laying around with a fever.

On the advice of my oldest son, we’re taking this week off as well. And I’m being good. As good as I can possibly be while still running a household anyway. We’ve been watching some fun movies (Moana is awesome, by the way) and I’ve been doing lots of reading. Yesterday I even took a nap! And you know what? It’s exactly what I needed. I’m feeling more rested than I’ve been in a long time.

Fighting my tendency to work myself into exhaustion is a battle in itself but I’m determined to make my word of the year successful.

