The Deliberate Reader book club is halfway through our discussions of True Grit by Charles Portis but I’ve already got a head start for next month’s book, The Diamond Age: Or, a Young Lady’s Illustrated Primer by Neal Stephenson. The story is intriguing but it moves really fast and the nanotechnology jargon has me feeling a little dumb. I’m being pushed out of my comfort zone with this one for sure.

I’m also reading the delightful book by Helene Hanff, Duchess of Bloomsbury Street. This is the sequel to 84, Charing Cross Road, the book of letters that Hanff exchanged with a bookseller in London. In Duchess we read her journal entries of her trip to London in 1971. She is a witty writer and I am thoroughly amused by her trip. Definitely a fun summer read.

I’ve still got several books to go for Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Summer Reading guide, some are on hold and some are sitting at the library waiting for me to pluck them off the shelves. This project has been really good for me to expand my reading into more modern fiction.

Until next time!

