For every book I read I put at least two more books into my never-ending to-read list. It bothers me some that I know I will never get to the end of the list, but then again, I’ll never be without a great book to read!

Last week I finished a beautiful children’s book (yes, I read children’s books to myself) called The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly. It’s about an almost 12-year old girl who lives down south in Texas in 1899 and her discovery of the nature around her. It was so good and I’m glad that there is a sequel.

The boys and I are nearing the end of the Wingfeather Saga and it is getting so exciting! I can feel the dread rising in me. I know something big happens and I’m trying so hard not to look ahead and find out before we get there.

The next book I’m reading from the suggested reading list in The Well-Educated Mind is Pilgrim’s Progress. I’m kind of cheating by reading a modern version of it. I figure after reading Don Quixote I need to go a little easier this time.

I’m also reading a nonfiction missionary story, Peace Child by Don Richardson. I have a great respect for missionaries and this story about a native tribe who values treachery and cannibalism is truly remarkable.

Finally, as I announced last week, I’m on the launch team for Becoming MomStrong: How to Fight with All That’s in You for Your Family and Your Faith by Heidi St. John. We just had a session with Heidi today and oh my, she is so awesome! As I’m reading through the book I’m gaining hope and encouragement for raising my boys to be strong men of faith. The book won’t be coming out until September, but you can pre-order the book now. Heidi has also put together a six-week Bible study and a journal. I’ve already been so blessed by being a part of the launch team and I’m so grateful for the words of wisdom she has for moms.

